Magic Music News

Demi Lovato attends the OBB Premiere Event for YouTube Originals Docuseries "Demi Lovato: Dancing With The Devil" at The Beverly Hilton on March 22, 2021 in Beverly Hills, California.

The much anticipated seventh studio album from Demi Lovato was released to streaming services at midnight, along with a powerful music video for the title track “Dancing With The Devil.”

Lovato explained that the original title was going to be just The Art of Starting Over, but decided to give it a double title to reflect the interconnection with her YouTube documentary series. “If you listen to it track by track, if you follow the track listing, it’s kind of actually like the non-official soundtrack to the documentary. Because it really does follow my life over the past couple of years. When we went through the track listing and kind of mapped out how it kind of coincided with my life’s story, it made sense to add the more emotional stuff in the beginning and then transition into The Art of Starting Over,” Lovato said.

Dancing With The Devil: The Art Of Starting Over features collaborations with Ariana Grande, Sam Fischer, Noah Cyrus, and Saweeetie. The 19-song album’s first three songs are the Prelude, with The Art Of Starting Over beginning at the fourth track, “Intro.” The track list is as follows:
1. Anyone
2. Dancing With The Devil
3. ICU (Madison’s Lullabye)
4. Intro
5. The Art Of Starting Over
6. Lonely People
7. The Way You Don’t Look At Me
8. Melon Cake
9. Met Him Last Night (feat. Ariana Grande)
10. What Other People Say (with Sam Fischer)
11. Carefully
12. The Kind Of Lover I Am
13. Easy (with Noah Cyrus)
14. 15 Minutes
15. My Girlfriends Are My Boyfriend (feat. Saweetie)
16. California Sober
17. Mad World
18. Butterfly
19. Good Place

The music video for “Dancing With The Devil” has a trigger warning in the beginning for drug use, trauma, and sexual abuse. Co-directed by Demi Lovato, the music video shows the real events surrounding her 2018 overdose. At one point, it seems that Lovato is so enveloped in her feelings, she breaks down and cries while singing along to the song while on a stretcher.

When it came to how Lovato intends the new album to be listened to, she suggests listening to the tracks in order:

Demi Lovato fans on Twitter went wild for the drops:

Sign me up for the Magic 98.3 email newsletter!

Be the first to know about our awesome ticket giveaways, the latest updates with your favorite artists, and more.

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.